Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2 – Three new projects announced.

Index has announced a TV anime adaption for Devil Survivor 2 titled – Devil Survivor 2 the Animation. It will premier April 2013 and it’s directed by Seiji Kishi (the same dude who directed the Persona 4 anime). I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not. Is it a directors fault if an anime is full of QUALITY? Persona 4 the Animation was notorious for some shoddy animation. Anyways, they’ve also announced a manga adaption and most interestingly a new Devil Survivor 2 game project. The original got an enhanced-port on the 3DS titled Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked. It featured a new 8th day scenario, a demon compendium, easy mode “enhanced” graphics and more. The new DeSu 2 game project might be an Overclocked version for 3DS. It might be something for Vita, let’s just hope whatever it is, it’s not a social GREE game. I don’t have a problem with GREE or social games, I just don’t think they warrant teasers.

FireShot Screen Capture #008 - 'デビルサバイバー2 プロジェクト始動' - ds2-p_atlusnet_jp

Although I’m not a fan of the Shin Megami Tenseis’ insane difficulty or dungeon crawling, I find the series to have some of the best dialogue, story, characters and character designs in video games. Which is a shame because I don’t have the patience or skill to get through any of them. I was excited for the original Devil Survivor since I love SRPGs but it still had typical SMT game design. Needless to say, I never got through it. Still, I follow SMT news closely , hoping that one day they announce an action-RPG with on-screen enemies.If this is an Overclocked version for 3DS I’ll buy it. Ff Soul Hackers gets localized, I’ll buy it. When SMTIV gets localized, I’ll buy it. I am an idiot.

(Official Anime Website) (Official Game Project Website)

One thought on “Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2 – Three new projects announced.

  1. Pingback: This Week in Japanese Video Game Stories [Dec 9 - 15] « The Sun Rising Blog

Leave a Reply

